Everyone I meet asks me how I'm doing.  There seems to be two acceptable responses.... "I'm good!" and "I'm really busy!". The inevitable reply, especially if you say you are busy, is an affirmation that being busy is a really great thing.  Something I've been thinking a lot about lately though.... is busy really good?

Just over 3 years ago I was working 60+ hours a week.  I was under a lot of stress and I finally just snapped.  I had a complete breakdown and basically didn't leave my house for months.  I needed an alternative to corporate America, so I applied to massage school.  3 years later, I still work 60+ hours a week, but it is a different kind of work.  I work for myself, and a significant part of my work requires me to exercise, meditate, breathe, think, read, and reflect.  Honestly, I don't get paid for most of the work I do.  When I getting paid, I am working with clients.... which is still pretty low key since I am listening to soothing music in dim lights in a spa-like atmosphere.  When I am searching for new clients, the best thing to do is be myself.  The better I take care of myself and more authentic I am living the life that makes me happy.... whether that is doing my hobbies or making new friends, or trying out new and exciting activities, the better off I become financially, mentally, physically, emotionally, and spiritually.

Busy for me actually means something really different than what most people think of as busy.  I am often busy smelling flowers or having fun or reading a book for my bookclub.  We require down time in order to have the energy to "work".  1/3 of our days are spent sleeping.  Another third needs to be down time to "recharge" our batteries.  The remaining third is work.  That includes not just actual work you are paid for, but all of your chores and activities that TAKE energy away from you.... the things that you "have to do".  

So, is busy really good?  What do you think?  I would love to hear your thoughts.



Leave a Reply.